Challenges of Female Aspirants at Malawi Parliamentary Elections

The Republic of Malawi has also witnessed and given birth to such brave souls who not only constitute the better half of men but also proved out to be the better half of the society. The Republic Of Malawi previously known by the name of Nyasaland shares the border with Zambia to the north-west. Tanzania to the north-east and in the east, south, and west, the country is surrounded by Mozambique.

Malawi is one of the world’s most densely populated nations. Along with this, it is also among the least developed nations. The demography of Malawi shows that the large part of the population is rural and the economy of the country is largely dependent on agriculture. The country was ruled by the native ruler till 1891 and it was colonized by the British in the very same year. Malawi was a British colony till 1964 and after gaining independence it became a single-party state under the presidency of the great Hastings Banda. Hastings Banda remained president till 1994 after which he was ousted from the power and democracy was adopted.

Since the year 1994, Malawi is a democratic country and has a multi-party system. The government branches consist of executive, legislative and judicial. The branches under legislation consist of a unicameral National Assembly of 193 members. These members are elected for five years. Malawian constitution provides a seat for 80 members in Senate which does not exist in practice. The judiciary is based on the English system and consists of the Supreme Court, High Courts, and subordinate Magistrate Courts. Presently, there are nine political parties in Malawi. The main parties of the country, however, are the Democratic Progressive Party, the Malawi Congress Party, and the United Democratic Front. 18 years is the age for the Universal Suffrage. There are three regions in Malawi namely the Northern, Central and Southern Regions (IFPRI, “Malawi”).
In the regime of a multi-party era, the elections at the local level took place for the first time in the year 2000.